EU prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards

The EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards (as of 2019 the European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards) was launched in 2002 by the European Commission and has been organised by Europa Nostra ever since. The Awards promote best practices related to heritage conservation, management, research, education and communication. In this way, the Awards scheme contributes to a stronger public recognition of cultural heritage as a strategic resource for Europe’s society and economy.

The aims are:
- to promote high standards of conservation practice;
- to stimulate the exchange of knowledge and experience throughout Europe;
- to encourage further efforts through the power of example.
It will achieve this by giving public recognition to outstanding initiatives and best practices by either individuals or organisations, which contribute to the protection and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe.

In 2019, the Awards will be given to up to 30 remarkable heritage projects and initiatives in four categories. Up to seven will be selected as Grand Prix winners and receive €10,000 each. One will get the Public Choice Award.
The areas are the following:
- Architectural Heritage: single buildings or groups of buildings in rural or urban setting;
- Building additions or alterations, or new building projects within historic areas;
- Industrial and engineering structures and sites;
- Cultural landscapes: historic urban environments or townscapes, city or town squares and streetscapes;
- Historic parks and gardens, larger areas of designed landscape or of cultural, environmental and/or agricultural significance;
- Archaeological sites, including underwater archaeology;
- Works of art and collections: collections of artistic and historic significance or old works of art;
- Intangible cultural heritage as practices, representations, expressions, as well as the knowledge and skills that communities, groups and, in some cases, individuals recognise as part of their cultural heritage;
- Digitisation projects of cultural heritage.

The prize will be awarded to each of the following categories:
Category 1: Conservation
Outstanding achievements in the conservation, enhancement and adaptation to new uses of cultural heritage in any of the above-mentioned areas.

Category 2: Research
Outstanding research and digitization projects which lead to tangible effects in the conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage in Europe in any of the above-mentioned areas.

Category 3: Dedicated service by individuals or organisations
Open to individuals or organisations whose contributions over a long period of time demonstrate excellence in the protection, conservation and enhancement of cultural heritage (relating to the above-mentioned in Europe. The contribution should be of a standard which would be considered outstanding in the European context.

Category 4: Education, training and awareness-raising
Outstanding initiatives related to education, training and awareness-raising in the field of tangible and/or intangible cultural heritage in any of the above-mentioned areas, to promote and/or to contribute to the sustainable development of the environment.

All winning entries will receive a certificate indicating their level of Award: Prize, Medal or Diploma. Subject to the confirmation of the continuation of Europa Nostra’s partnership with the European Commission, the most outstanding achievements may also be awarded a monetary Prize of EUR 10 000 in each category in addition to Awards.
The prize may be awarded to either a European individual (e.g. conservation/restoration specialist in scientific, technical or craftsmanship terms) or a group that may involve conservation/restoration specialists, owners, public authorities or non-governmental organisations.

Entries may be submitted from the countries that take part in the Creative Europe programme of the European Commission.

Countries eligible for the European Heritage Prize:
Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYROM, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom and Ukraine.

Countries eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards only:
Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, the Holy See, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Monaco, the Russian Federation, San Marino, Switzerland and Turkey.

Deadline: 15 November 2018.

Find out more: