Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2019

Launched by the European Commission, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2019 rewards outstanding contributions made by journalists from all over the world, reporting on issues such as poverty eradication, development issues, inequality and human rights. The overarching theme of the 2019 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is journalism for development.


The Prize was created by the European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO), and named after Lorenzo Natali, an early champion of European development policy.



Who can participate
The 2019 Prize will be awarded in the following three categories: 

  • Grand Prize - open to journalists whose media headquarter is located in one of the more than 160 partner countries with which the European Union engages on development and cooperation 
  • Europe Prize - open to journalists in the EU
  • Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 in any country where DG DEVCO and DG NEAR provide development assistance, as well as in the EU member states
  • geographic eligibility is based on the headquarters’ location of the media outlet where the work was published



Entries should relate to development cooperation issues such as, but not limited to:

  • Youth;
  • Gender equality;
  • Health;
  • Sustainable energy and climate change;
  • Investment and trade;
  • Good governance;
  • Democracy;
  • The rule of law and human rights;
  • Innovative engagement with more advanced developing countries;
  • Mobilising and using domestic resource.


How to apply

  • apply via the online form;
  • entries are accepted in all languages (translation in English, French or Spanish is required for the entries that were not originally published in one of these languages);
  • they can either have one or several authors;
  • the participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work;
  • all entries must have been published (print or online), broadcasted or have appeared in a media outlet between 10 March 2018 and 9 March 2019; 
  • text based entries must be maximum 2000 words long, video and audio entries must be maximum 10 minutes long.




  • there will be up to 3 winners;
  • the winner in each category will receive €10,000; 
  • the winner of the Best Emerging Journalist Prize category will also be offered work experience with a media partner;
  • winning journalists will be invited to participate in the Award Ceremony at the 2019 European Development Days, which will take place in Brussels, Belgium on 18-19 June 2019; the European Commission will cover the cost of the winners’ travel to Brussels.



Deadline: 14th April 2019, midnight CET.


Find out more, including the full rules.